Join as a Professional Member

How to Join as a Professional Member of NY State Veterinary Medical Society

Welcome. We are excited that you are considering membership. This page will take you through the steps to membership

Who is eligible?

Professional Membership is for all veterinarians licensed in New York State or working at our Universities, Industry supporters, Government and more.

Recent graduates can join as Professional Members at reduced cost.

There are other member types for technicians and hospitals.

How to Join

First choose your regional group. Every member is also a member of their regional group. Find your regional group below.

If you are totally new to our site than start with account creation, or if you already have a user account, jump right into adding your membership.

You can also call us on (518) 869-7867 or download  and return an application form

How much does it cost?

Year of Graduation $0
1st year after graduation   $76.25 +75% discount on regional dues
2nd year after graduation $152.50  + 50% discount on regional dues
3rd year after graduation $228.75 + 75% discount on regional dues
4th year and beyond $305 + regional dues

Regional dues can vary from $50 to over $200 depending on the amount of programs that are provided

Why do I also need to join a regional group?


NYSVMS is an affiliation of 12 regional veterinary medical associations.

The New York State VMS provides all the services that are shared across each regional group, and we charge State dues to cover those programs.

Your chosen regional group provides local CE, social meetings and addresses animal welfare and other community needs in that region. Their dues will vary depending on the depth of programming that they provide.

Regional dues can vary from $50 to over $200 for the groups that are most active.

Which regional group should I join?

Choose the regional group that is convenient for where you live or work.

Capital District Hamilton, Warren, Washington, Fulton, Saratoga, Montgomery, Schenectady, Rensselaer, Albany, Green and Columbia
Catskill Otsego, Schoharie, Delaware and Chenango
Central New York Jefferson, Lewis, Herkimer, Oneida, Oswego, Onondaga, Cayuga and Madison
Finger Lakes Wayne, Ontario, Seneca, Livingston and Yates
Genesee Valley Orleans and Monroe
Hudson Valley Sullivan, Ulster, Dutchess, Orange and Putnam
Long Island Suffolk and Nassau
New York City Manhattan, Bronx, Richmond, Kings and Queens
Northern New York St. Lawrence, Franklin, Clinton and Essex
Southern Tier Steuben, Chemung, Schuyler, Tompkins, Tioga, Cortland and Broome
Westchester/Rockland Westchester and Rockland
Western NY Chautauqua, Erie, Niagara, Cattaraugus, Genesee, Wyoming and Allegany